How To: Fix KeyChain Errors


ISSUE:  
OS X: Keychain Access still asks for keychain "login" after changing login password

If you change your account computer/AD password, your default keychain password (which uses the same initial password as your user account) does not change. Because of this, you will be prompted to enter a keychain password each time an application requires authentication that your keychain would normally provide.  You must then synchronize your Keychain Access and account login passwords by doing this:

  1. Open Keychain Access (you can get to it by choosing Utilities from the Go menu in the Finder).
  2. From the Edit menu, choose Change Password for Keychain "login."
  3. Type the former password of the account that you are currently logged in to, then click OK.
  4. If you entered the correct password, a new window appears; enter the original password again in the Current Password field.
  5. In the New Password field, type the password that matches your current account password.
  6. Re-enter the newer password in the Verify field, then click OK.

If you don't remember your original password, you'll need to delete the keychain. Deleting a keychain also deletes all the password data saved in that keychain.

  1. In Keychain Access, choose Preferences from the Keychain Access menu.
  2. If available, click the Reset My Default Keychain button. This will remove the login keychain and create a new one with the password provided.
  3. If Reset My Default Keychain is not available, choose Keychain List from the Edit menu.
  4. Delete the "login" keychain.  (This will ask for a password - if yours does not work, you'll need a tech to login and do this)
  5. Logout 
  6. Log back in and pop ups should stop


Last Resort - try the following steps if the previous do not fix the issue:

  • Open Finder 
  • Go to Menu Bar at top of screen
  • Select Go  
  • Go to folder /users/username/library (replace username with the iSS username)
  • Go to Keychains folder
  • Delete everything in folder (NOTE *This may require an administrative login to complete)
  • Empty trash (say continue to everything)
  • shut down computer and reboot
When you log back in all should be right

 I found this article helpful. (0)