How To: Reset a User Profile ***Admin Only***

OS X Mavericks: Delete a user

If you’re an administrator, you can delete users that you no longer want to have access to your Mac or reset users that have corrupted their user folder

When you delete a user, you can save the user’s home folder, which contains the user’s files and settings, or delete the home folder. 

  1. Open Users & Groups preferences, then click the lock icon to unlock it. If necessary, type your password, then click Unlock.
  2. Select the user you want to delete, then click Delete (-) below the list of users.
  3. Do one of the following:
    • To save the user’s home folder as a disk image, select “Save the home folder in a disk image.” The disk image is saved in /Users/Deleted Users/.

    • To leave the home folder as is, select “Don’t change the home folder.” The home folder remains in /Users/.

    • To remove the home folder from your computer, select “Delete the home folder.” If you want to prevent programs that read raw data from retrieving any files, select “Erase home folder securely.”

  4. Click Delete User.
Note:  If you don’t delete a user’s home folder, you can restore the user and the contents of the home folder.  Deleting a user will delete any data and folders created under the user.  You MUST fully delete the user to reset a corrupted user profile.  This process will not delete apps that have been installed by the user from the applications folder.

 I found this article helpful. (0)